stg_group_title.gif (9298 bytes)

Publisher Of James Hiller's Novels.

steller.gif (26430 bytes)

About the author ...

James Hiller is a retired army officer who has traveled extensively around the world. When he left the Service, he became a freelance tech writer for software developers. (His tech orientation came late in life -- now he assembles gaming computers from component parts as a hobby.)

He is a graduate of Cameron University where he studied history. He has also "read" history in the old fashion sense -- learning a calling from experience and reading. That's why all of his fictional works have an historical underpinning.

He resides in Oklahoma City with his wife Linda, who is an accomplished artist. Together they own and operate the Summer Wine Art Gallery on the Paseo.



Copyright © The Story Teller Group 1999 - 2013
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Novels Now Available   steller button2 copy.gif (5577 bytes)


Battledore and Shuttlecock

It is 1922. In the States, Prohibition is in. Mary Pickford and Douglas Fairbanks are America's sweethearts. The women's suffrage movement is full steam ahead and a thing called the "teddy" is shaping up their torsos. Abroad the "Great War" is over. Waikiki has one major hotel and sits on the edge of a salt marsh. Japan is a raising power in the East. China is ruled by warlords, occupied by Western powers and threatened by Japan. Shanghai is a "Treaty City" divided between the French and British with Americans and White Russians trying to get a piece of the action.

Battledore and Shuttlecock is a tongue in cheek adventure novel plotted in this same 1922. The work is written in the tradition of Talbot Mundy and H. Rider Haggard, albeit in modern form and at a quicker pace. The story spans across the Orient from San Francisco and Honolulu, to Yokohama and Shanghai. The protagonists are an American heir to the trading house and a Brit raised in East and son of a commercial attaché. They, while traveling for their trading house, encounter a bank robber, a shipboard con game, a shifty minister who heads a gang of gun runners, a secret society assassination plot, and a tong war.

The work accurately describes the locations, dress and mannerisms of the period. Many of the adventures in the novel are taken from the lore of the traveled area. Within these pages, and with some literary liberties, the eruption of Krakatau is retold; Charlie Chan is conceived; and the lore of 1922 Shanghai is revealed.

Our two heroes are cosmopolitan and, because of their trader backgrounds, enlighten for their time. The novel challenges some stereotypes, although others are appropriate. Too, the slang and attitudes of the period are reproduced in this novel. Please do not be offended - it is the way it was.

This is the first e-book publication of this novel. It was previously published by The Story Teller Press on a CD in HTML format in 1999. That publication included sound effects, music and automation as well as graphical illustrations. Because of device limitations those features have been removed from this edition. The Story Teller Group is the current publisher.

The Great Voyage

Book I of The New Phoenican Chronicals


This saga begins with the fall of Carthage in 146 BC (Prologue). That factual event is the storyline’s bedrock starting point. Our story then enters an alternate world history as described in The New Phoenician Chronicles. The timeline for the chronicles is 146 BC to 2030 AD. The storyline weaves a fictional account of Phoenician colonists, who fleeing Rome, take ship in search of a new land — to build a new civilization (Book One). By 700 AD the Bantu speaking people of Africa become an essential element of the story (Book Two). The next major event is the Empire’s War in 1815 (Book Three). In 1942 the world is at war (Book Four). The chronicles end with the establishment of a joint Phoenician / Bantu colony on the lunar surface (Book Five).

Through this great span of years the places cited have had many names. Aside from fictionalized locales, I have tried to use place names that a majority of readers will recognize, though date and name may not correspond to the real historical record. I have also sought to hold to real historical fact, other then the obvious fictional nature of the narrative. The flow of the story demanded many exceptions, for this is, after all, an Alternate History.
A quick work about character names: Each book contains a List of Players. I used actual Phoenician and Bantu names. It may take you a bit of time to get accustom to them — there was no good alternative.

Serialized, the chronicles are made available to you in five novellas. Each novella has ten chapters of varying length. Two of the books have additional chapter length prologues.

Book One begins the adventure with the fall of Carthage and the great sea voyage.
New Phoenica
Book II of The New Phoenican Chronicals
Book Two continues the saga with the founding of New Phoenicia and the trade alliance with the Buganada Kingdom. These events are seen through the eyes of the Phoenician and Buganada leaders and three young men from different backgrounds under going their right of passage.
 Empires War
Book III of The New Phoenican Chronicals
Book three chronicles the world’s Empires at war as seen through the eyes of three young men marking a new generation of New Phoenicians.
Pigeon Blood
After the explorers had passed, the seekers followed. The diamond?s icy fire beckoned many to the south of Africa. The alluring green of the emerald drew a different lot to the jungles of Brazil. Still others swarmed to Ceylon seeking the white starred, blue sapphire. But the boldest, and the greediest of the seekers came to Burma ? in search of the Pigeon Blood Ruby.?

It is 1947. Burma is on the eve of independence.

Burma? is a name-tag for a territory that has no national history. Its sixty racial groups speak nearly two hundred and fifty languages or dialects. Only twice before, for brief periods, has the territory been united. And that was by the sword ? all sixty of the ethnic groups being made up of born warriors.

The Burman, who are the largest ethnic group and control lower Burma, will make up the new government. They supported the Japanese until near the end of the war. Of the other clans only the Arakanese live entirely within the borders of what is to be Burma. The upper region is controlled by territorial factions, most of whom fought for the Allies during the war. Then there are the despised Indian and Chinese immigrants. Besides all of these competing factions there are the communist and Nationalist Chinese insurgents fighting each other, or anyone else who comes along in the northwest Kachin territory.

Into this boiling carton come the new seekers. For a brief moment in time a great treasure can be had if Burma?s Nats (fates) don?t get feisty. There are hundreds of Pigeon Blood Rubies at stake. The new government claims them. The communists want them. Henry Tromp and crew have a plan to get them. Kato Aritomo has them and will sell to the highest bidder! Of course, the highest bid must include the safe regard for his life and limb.

Come join this grand adventure.

A word about the way things were. Postwar France and Burma are the two major backdrops for this Romantic Action / Adventure tale. The snapshots of that time and those places are accurately depicted within these pages. Places change in sixty odd years ? especially in our fast paced world. Burma (Myanmar) has certainly changed. Still, having read this work of fiction you may look askance at today?s headlines.
                                                      Novels In The Pipe Line

September 2014: Book IV of The New Phoenican Chronicals: Warriors and Healers

Book Four is an action account of New Phoenicia during WWII as seen through the eyes of warriors and healers.

March 2015: Scarab

The hunt is on. An ancient Egyptian artifact has gone missing. A troubled scholar and a hard-boiled detective have teamed up to find it. Friend or foe, an Egyptian matriarch and her henchmen are in the mix. Too, really mean and nasty fellows get in their way.

 “It was sealed in plastic to preserve and protect the three thousand, four hundred and ninety year old wood. The age was give or take a few tens of years, given the probable error of the several calendar conversions that marked recorded history. The tablet was grayish in color, resulting from being encased in the Nile mud until a mere sixty years ago. It was two feet high and less than one foot wide. A quarter inch from its rectangular edge ran a grooved boarder. Within the boundary of the boarder were sixty rows of hieroglyphic symbols. They told of the making of a fabulous treasure.”

 To embellish the tale I penned the players and some places with names denoting their character, whether they were saints or villains. See if you recognize any of the clues while reading the story.

April 2015: Book V of The New Phoenican Chronicals: Outbound

Book Five chronicles the New Phoenician / Bantu alliance taking their first steps into space as seen by jaded Western reporter. It is also a love story.